Struggling With Motivation

I have always been a very fit looking person. That’s not me being cocky or arrogant, it’s just admitting the truth. When I was younger, I was active in sports and as a child, I was always running around our neighborhood in Lima. Even in college, I stayed active through intramural sports and stuff like that.

As I’ve gotten older, though, I’ve realized that to keep looking good I have to make time to actually exercise (not to mention that I have to watch what I eat, which is yet another struggle in and of itself).

This is hard for me to do for a couple of reasons. One is that I never had to actually concentrate on exercising earlier in my life. I got so much exercise through activities that I actually enjoy that I didn’t have to go to a gym and run on a treadmill or anything. Another reason is that I just don’t like exercise for the sake of exercise. Give me a sport to play or something, and I’ll happily do it. Give me a treadmill or an elliptical trainer and I’ll get bored very quickly.

That’s one reason why I’ve done kickboxing, yoga, and even some aerobics. I need to take my mind off of what can otherwise be very dull exercise routines and focus on a different, more entertaining activity.

The last problem, though, is that since I never had to go out of my way to look fit in the past, I’ve kind of taken it for granted. I kind of feel like, “Why do I have to do all this extra work NOW, all of a sudden?” Ugh. Oh, well. You want to look good, you have to take care of your body, right?

Leave a comment